Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Here's a fix for installing Commandos BEL & BTCOD on Vista 64

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default Here's a fix for installing Commandos BEL & BTCOD on Vista 64

    UPDATE: 25 March 2014.

    Kindly note that I have posted a revised tutorial video and the new method to fix commandos in 64bit OS.
    The Fix is for Vista - Windows 8.1 progressively as of now.
    The fix is for Black Screen, Speed Issue in BEL, and also unable to save \ load.


    Video Tutorial: http://youtu.be/e27kmguutgM

    Link for Fix File: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1I...it?usp=sharing

    Method:
    1) Copy "Comandos" and "Coman_mp" Folder to C:\
    2} Download the Fix from the link
    3) Extract and replace the files
    4) Play!!!

    DONE!

    NOTE: The below method was posted by me in 2009, and therefore its an old thread.
    Pls follow the link above to view the tutorial video in youtube and leave comments.

    You can simply ignore the method below


    There's no way of getting the Setup.exe to run in 64Bit OS. So here's one of the way that i manage to get it work. May it'll be helpful to the rest of you whose having trouble saving/loading or installing the game. I'll go into details on how to do it..please read on if you really wanna play the game on vista64.
    1) Create the following Folders one by one in program files (x86), follow exactly the same---> C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos, Beyond the Call of Duty OR C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos

    Explanation:

    -First you create the folder named Eidos Interactive in the program files(x86),
    -Next, Double Click to open up the Eidos Interactive folder that you have just created, and create another new folder in it, named the new folder as Pyro
    -Then Open up the Pyro folder that you have just created, and create another new folder inside it and named it as Commandos (for Behind Enemy LinesL) or Commandos, Beyond the Call of Duty (for BTCOD) Dont forget the Coma (,) and spacebar for BTCOD.

    2) Once you have created those folders i mentioned above, You need to copy the files from the CD to the folder that you have just created inside your prgoram files (x86)

    Explanation:

    For Beyond the call of duty,

    copy all the files inside the folder "coman_mp" <---This file can be found in the CD itself..Remember, Copy all the Files located INSIDE The folder of Coman_mp, and paste it into the folder "Commandos, Beyond the Call of Duty" that you have just created in step 1.

    Don't Copy the Folder Coman_mp itself, But copy the files inside the folder of Coman_mp to C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos, Beyond the Call of Duty

    Files inside the coman_mp are as follow:

    Datos,
    mplayer
    output
    video
    coman_mp.exe
    mpserver.exe
    MSS16.dll
    MSS32.dll
    mssb16.tsk
    tutorial.exe
    WAR_MP

    You may not want to Copy the folder "video" from the CD as you still need the Disc to play.

    For Behind Enemy Lines

    copy all the files inside the folder "COMANDOS" <---This file can be found in the CD itself..Remember, Copy all the Files located INSIDE The folder of COMANDOS and paste it into the folder "Commandos" that you have just created in step 1.

    Don't Copy the Folder COMANDOS itself, But copy the files inside the folder of COMANDOS to C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos

    Files inside the COMANDOS folder are as follow:

    Datos,
    mplayer
    output
    video
    comandos.exe
    mpserver.exe
    MSS16.dll
    MSS32.dll
    mssb16.tsk
    WARGAME

    You may not want to Copy the folder "video" from the CD as you still need the Disc to play.

    3) Once you have copied all the files to the respective folder, open up a notepad and paste the following codes inside the notepad:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Pyro]

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Pyro\Commandos]

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Pyro\Commandos\1.0]
    "DirCd"="D:\\Comandos"
    "DirIns"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Eidos Interactive\\Pyro\\Commandos"
    "Type"=dword:00000001

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Pyro\Commandos\1.0MP]
    "DirCd"="D:\\COMAN_MP"
    "DirIns"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Eidos Interactive\\Pyro\\Commandos, Beyond the Call of Duty"
    "Type"=dword:00000003



    NOTE: You may want to go to Control Panel ---> Classic View ---> Folder Options ---> View Tab ---> Uncheck "Hide Extensions for known file types" Before continuing to step 4.

    4) After you have pasted the above codes inside a notepad, save the notepad as Pyro.reg and save it to your desktop.

    5) once the file is saved, Double Click on the Pyro.reg that you have just saved/created and click on Yes and Yes/OK...and thats it!!!

    So thats it guys..Try running the game now, see if you can save or load the game..Remember you need the CD to play...

    If you do not understand or anything..simply add me at MSN at death_zone@eminem.com or email me at hafitz@live.com

    I will guide you further...

    NOTE: FOR STEP 3, Copy the whole codes including the first line Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00, you just need to do that step once and it will work for both BEL and BTCOD.

    Yours Sincerely,
    Fitz

    Post has been corrected by Grent, 2nd post of this thread. Credits to Grent for correcting "Comma ndos" and "DirIns"="C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos" which is within the codes....so you guys can simply copy and paste the codes above now...
    Last edited by hafitz; 03-25-2014 at 05:03 AM. Reason: Updating the fix

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Thanks!

    Great work! I have been banging my head against the wall trying to get saving and loading to work.

    Two quick corrections to the registry entries.

    All instances of 'Pyro\Comma ndos' should be: 'Pyro\Commandos'

    and

    "DirIns"="C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos"
    should be:
    "DirIns"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Eidos Interactive\\Pyro\\Commandos"

    Thanks again! You made my day!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Hey Grent!! thanks For spotting the error..i didnt realise it..i guess i was a little sleepy at that time typing it out..anyway thanks for spotting and correcting it..!!! I've reedited it and bold it...Credits to u!!
    Last edited by hafitz; 04-17-2009 at 02:58 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    333

    Default

    Wow it actually works!!! Good Job!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I'm glad i could help.... : )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    3

    Default :d

    Thanx a lot for this dude

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Guys i need help,

    I have installed Commandos Behind Enemy Lines on Windows 7 RC1 (32-bit) and the game whas working great (played to the end)

    When i install Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty on Windows 7 RC1 (32-bit) my game does not work. It gives a error message ''incorrect version of windows'' ''Sorry, not supported for Windows NT''. When i set compatible mode on Windows 98/ME and run as administrator this error remains. Now when i press the tutorial icon i can play all trainings. Now i wonder why the main game does not work

    Is there a way to get it to work on windows 7 ? its very strange that CBEL works and CBTCOD does not work.
    Last edited by Thegoldenman; 06-05-2009 at 03:31 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,759

    Default

    Well firstly the release of Windows 7 you are using isn't even a final version yet so that will already give some problems.

    What you can try is see if this patch for XP works:
    http://www.tafn.info/phpscripts/file...s.php?file=112

    and instead of win 98 compatibility use winxp compatibility

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I am sorry to say, but commandos behind enemy lines worked without any problems. This is game related and has nothing to do with windows 7 rc release.

    - Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty Demo (No problems running on w7 RC 1)
    - Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty (Doesn't start up, only tutorials does work)

    When i check both .exe files i see that the demo version is 2 mb big and the full version +/- 300 kbs.

    I wil try the patch and post if it worked or not.

    Edit: @m thank you so much, patch worked great on windows 7. Also i didnt need to change the compatible mode . My game is freezing sometimes when i want to save or load.

    Is it also possible to play without a disc ?

    Edit 2: I found a working no-cd patch and that exe file is 2.82 mb's big. I am not sure if this is a official fix from eidos or a group who made it. Also with this no-cd patch my game freeze sometimes when i try to save or load.
    Last edited by Thegoldenman; 06-06-2009 at 08:45 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi again,

    I have played Commandos bel, commandos 2 moc, commandos 3 db on windows 7 without any problems.....still commandos btcod has freezing problems on windows 7 build 7264.

    However i tried commandos btcod on windows vista x64 and i have the same freezing problem. How come this is not fixed ?

    PS: Windows Vista x64 = my pc
    Windows 7 x32 = my laptop

    both have freezing problems when saving (random)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    There is a way to run the game without the disc...
    You have to edit the registry manually without using the CD Cracks..

    I've manged to do it..but i'm sorry..i dont think so i'm able to post how to do it here...the moderator almost banned me for hinting how to make commandos run on a normal speed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Thegoldenman View Post
    I am sorry to say, but commandos behind enemy lines worked without any problems. This is game related and has nothing to do with windows 7 rc release.

    - Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty Demo (No problems running on w7 RC 1)
    - Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty (Doesn't start up, only tutorials does work)

    When i check both .exe files i see that the demo version is 2 mb big and the full version +/- 300 kbs.

    I wil try the patch and post if it worked or not.

    Edit: @m thank you so much, patch worked great on windows 7. Also i didnt need to change the compatible mode . My game is freezing sometimes when i want to save or load.

    Is it also possible to play without a disc ?

    Edit 2: I found a working no-cd patch and that exe file is 2.82 mb's big. I am not sure if this is a official fix from eidos or a group who made it. Also with this no-cd patch my game freeze sometimes when i try to save or load.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thegoldenman View Post
    Hi again,

    I have played Commandos bel, commandos 2 moc, commandos 3 db on windows 7 without any problems.....still commandos btcod has freezing problems on windows 7 build 7264.

    However i tried commandos btcod on windows vista x64 and i have the same freezing problem. How come this is not fixed ?

    PS: Windows Vista x64 = my pc
    Windows 7 x32 = my laptop

    both have freezing problems when saving (random)
    I wish i could help you...but i dont own Windows 7 at the moment..I'm soo soo sorry guys that i cant help those with windows 7...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Do you have freeze problems when trying to save ? my total game is going to freeze and wont do anything until i close the game with alt + tab and close the application.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thegoldenman View Post
    Guys i need help,

    I have installed Commandos Behind Enemy Lines on Windows 7 RC1 (32-bit) and the game whas working great (played to the end)

    When i install Commandos Beyond the Call of Duty on Windows 7 RC1 (32-bit) my game does not work. It gives a error message ''incorrect version of windows'' ''Sorry, not supported for Windows NT''. When i set compatible mode on Windows 98/ME and run as administrator this error remains. Now when i press the tutorial icon i can play all trainings. Now i wonder why the main game does not work

    Is there a way to get it to work on windows 7 ? its very strange that CBEL works and CBTCOD does not work.
    I have the very exakt problem but on Vista 64.
    Can somebody please explain too me why it keeps doing this?
    I have the Vista Home Premium edition.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Well i run Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (MSDN account) and downloaded the RTM version. The problem still remains

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    hey goldenman,

    I'm sorry for replying you late. Been very very busy. have u manage to get commandos btcod running yet? whats your email add? i wll send a No CD .reg file that i've created for both Commandos BEL and BTCOD..

    I just hope the registries in windows 7 is the same as vista...

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default A bit Confused

    I have followed everything you said to the letter
    and I have had no troble with BTCOD that works and saves
    without any problem. Only problem is that BEL wont save or
    load anything. I am usint 64 bit Vista so it should work.
    Any clue to what i should do?

    Thanks in advance for the help.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Thank

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I've tried the reg fixing and the patching file, neither are fixing my save problem on Win7 (64.) I picked up the game via Steam, but I am told its an exact match.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Alrite guys, I've tested the game on Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit, and the game works just fine..
    If u are still having problem, Email Me: hafitz@live.com

    I will send u a Pyro.reg ( A registry That i've created for x64 windows vista and 7)

    remember, dont run the game in Compability Mode...

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I need your help guys.

    My System is Windows 7 Ultimate x64. I've used the guide and updated my registry as written.

    BEL: game starts but when the intro comes i only hear sounds but i don't see no pictures. i can't skip this. after the video the main menu doesn't appear. so it's like i'm having a black screen and nothing happens. only thing i can do is to kill the thread by using the task manager.

    BTCOD: game starts and again i have sound and no video. i can't skip the video by pressing a button. when the video ends i'm getting into the main menu. at first it's a bit fast but after changing the tabs the game runs ok.

    So: How do i get the videos ? how do i get BEL to start?

    plz help me
    thx


    EDIT: hafitz helped me to solve this.

    All I needed to do was to UNINSTALL ALL CODEC PACKS.
    Last edited by eidacho; 04-02-2010 at 01:40 AM.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hafitz View Post
    hey goldenman,

    I'm sorry for replying you late. Been very very busy. have u manage to get commandos btcod running yet? whats your email add? i wll send a No CD .reg file that i've created for both Commandos BEL and BTCOD..

    I just hope the registries in windows 7 is the same as vista...
    I already send you a pm a month or 2 ago......didnt get anything from you

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thank you!!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default No Load/Save Option

    Hi I have a windows 7 home premium 64 machine. Couple of months back I had installed this game , by following the instructions as provided here.And everything was working fine with all save/load options available(i had to run it using compatibility mode though).
    Since last one month I had not been playing the game and today I thought I would play it, so i put the cd in and started the game but there was no save/load option. I tried a few times but it wouldnt work.
    So i unistalled it and re-installed it following the instructions as I had done previously. I also removed the old registry entires and created new ones as per the instructions, but it simply doesn't give me the option to save/load.It worked fine the first time,but this time it just wont work.
    I dont know what to do...Kindly help

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Forgot to mention

    Forgot to mention that I am trying to install BEL not BTCOD..The strange thing is I can play even without the CD..even though I dont have the video folder in my
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Eidos Interactive\Pyro\Commandos path..
    I am not sure whats going wrong here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •