Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 45 of 45

Thread: Post your modding questions here [Answers inside!]

  1. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Fairly useful tool for giving clues but not perfect by any means, some translation clumsy others just silly eg "Yankilandia"=America!!!!!!!!

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,759

    Default

    Got some spare time so I ran the .txt file (description of the MNG format) trough worldlingo and uploaded the file. Hope it can be of help.

    I don't know or there are people (besides Icanus) who can create an editor for this filetype if not let me know so I can ask our site programmer to have a look at it.

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    11

    Default Modding folders

    I cant seem to find the effects folder or the game/gamemodes folder in my imperial glory directory. can anyone help me out here?

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    23

    Default

    You have to unpack the right files, follow these guidelines by YORKIE originally by BENJI:

    Originally Posted by Benj
    1. Extract "data.pak" to wherever you want using Winrar.

    2. You should have a folder called "data".

    3. Open the "data" folder and cut and paste every folder in there to "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory".

    4. Delete the "data" folder.

    5. Extract "text.pak" to wherever you want using Winrar.

    6. You should have a folder called "text".

    7. Open the text folder and cut and paste the "texto" folder to "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory"

    8. Delete the "Text" folder.

    9. Rename the "data.pak" file to "data.pak.bak"

    10. Rename the "Text.pak" file to "Text.pak.bak"

    11. You should now have the following in your "C:\Program Files\Pyro Studios\Imperial Glory" folder:

    Audio folder
    Effects folder
    Engine folder
    Fonts folder
    Game folder
    Models folder
    Teclas folder
    texto folder
    Textures folder
    Video folder

    Binkw32.dll
    Config.sb
    data.pak.bak
    Game.sb
    Imperial Glory Manual.pdf
    ImperialGlory.exe
    Ogg.dll
    readme.rtf
    Text.pak.bak
    Vorbis.dll

    To revert to the default installation, delete:

    Effects folder
    Engine folder
    Fonts folder
    Game folder
    Models folder
    Teclas folder
    texto folder
    Textures folder

    And rename "data.pak.bak" to "data.pak" and "Text.pak.bak" to "Text.pak"
    Thanks to Benji
    This should take care of it, you must download a free winrar app(google search it)
    Have fun

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Icanus
    Great stuff.

    From a first glance over it, it looks a fair bit more complicated than the units stat files, but with this info it should be possible to change at least some of the stuff in the mng file.

    Many thanks to the folks at pyro and @m
    Saludos,

    I´ve tried to download that editor but the files has been already erased.
    If you still have it please send it to me as well as any other useful tool to keep on modding.
    Thanks.
    Saludazos

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,759

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Hallo,
    Is there any possibility of redeploying armies or redistribute the provinces each Main Empire has at the beginning of the campaign? and is there any campaign editor suitable or in progress? I´m working in a mod to allow playing with the country of your will, as well as the Great Five Countries, but the only thing I need to succeed is to know about that.
    Any help will be wellcome.
    Thanks in advance.

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Just a big thanks to everyone who's posted instructions and advice here, I'm having some success with the mods so far and you've helped me a lot by answering my questions before I asked 'em

    cheers everybody
    Lefebvre.

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    21

    Default

    I've modded the game so hospitals and farms produce food
    and population at 25-30% increased rate.

    I want to add to my mod so that it allows you to
    build in provinces that you have captured without you having to have a peace treaty with the previous owner.

    So ownership is given to whoever controls the province militarily.
    Does anyone have the slightest clue about what files to change
    or is it hardcoded.

    I'd also like to change it so attacking armies can have three
    commanders move into another province to attack not two
    as is.

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    5

    Default battlemod v1.1 HELP!

    I dl'd the battlemod v1.1 and unzipped the data.pak, text.pak and data1.pak files in my IG folder.
    Then unzipped the mod and put the folders into the IG directory and allowed it to overwrite the original folders there.

    First of all my version of the game somehow reverted back to version 1.0 and secondly all the text was totally screwed up. The game stilled worked but none of the effects of the mod were visible and also the massively destroyed text was all over the screen.

    I restored my backed up folders, and re installed the v.1.1 patch but it's still v.1.0.

    Can anyone help?

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by @m

    Word of warning though, not everything is answered as in order to mod certain settings of the game you'll need the full game editor and Pyro are a bit reluctant to release this as it may be used on up-coming titles.


    - changing the Campaign map and the territories

    This unfortunately cannot be done in a easy way.

    - or it's possible to add user-made maps to play on


    Again, there is currently no way to do this without the game editor


    - or there are any limits regarding the modding of the game. e.g. are there things that they may not alter

    Most of the game can be modified but to do this you need the game editor

    -
    Is there some point where they might actually release the game editor? I would love to see a mod with the territories more accurately rendered. Dividing countries into 3 or 4 big chunks just makes the game go too fast for me; plus I like more realism as well.

    Also, would it be possible to mod the diplomatic part of the game? Like having a more detailed and complex of set of diplomatic functions that have greater effect; such as being able to marry into other nations immediately and have that creating an extremely strong tie to another nation, that if it were broken by declaring war extreme penalties would occur (such as internal dissent which could cause revolts.

    I think it would also be cool to have to keep troops in a newly occupied territory due to the likelihood of rebellions; the whole idea behind all this being that going to war is a BIG thing and you'ld better be prepared for it, internally and externally.

    I also like the idea of being able to consult and be consulted by allies PRIOR to going to war to discuss war aims. This would probably be complicated to do (I guess) but would make a more realistic and engaging game.

    Do you think these things could be done with the game editor? Or is this just way too much to ask?

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
    I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahidali55 View Post
    Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
    I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.
    I don't think that would be possible because it would be giving away part of the game. Just go to amazon.com and buy it.


    To everyone: where is the unpacker here to download? Because I would like to try to mod this game a little.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    365

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shahidali55 View Post
    Could someone please post me the english text.pak file ?
    I got duped by a shop. The sold me a russian version saying it is english.

    I'm assuming this is in the IG/texto folder correct?

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i justed wanted to ask how to modifie the game
    i downloaded a mod, but how am i going to integrate it into the game?
    pls answer for a noob ^^

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default mods maps and units

    well to be honest iv got the urge to ask is there anyway to acually be 1 of the minor factions etc. hannover, spain , parts of north africa and such? and

    is there anyway to get a leader like some1 on a horse not like a genral or field marchel also any chance of making the prices lower for units..



    thank you for reading just joined 9/6/08

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    365

    Default

    I'm sure there is a play as Spain mod somewhere, but it replaces France. The game won't allow you to play as a smaller nation without replacing one of the major ones.

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by officerpuppy View Post
    I'm sure there is a play as Spain mod somewhere, but it replaces France. The game won't allow you to play as a smaller nation without replacing one of the major ones.
    How can you put in a smaller nation?

    And is there any way to allow the research that lets land divisions the ability to heal themselves be available much earlier? I think the second era is too late.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1

    Default Changing the empire's color

    Hi;

    I've been modding some Imperial Glory's files in order to play with the smaller nations (of course, replacing each each default empire by a minor country), and I'm doing fine so far, but....
    The one thing I don't seem to find is which file to modify -and what to put in it- in order to change the empire´s ident color!
    For instance, I would like to apply Austria's yellow to Spain, or UK's red to Poland, or France's blue to Moldavia....or even create new custom colors. This would really improve my playing experience.
    Does anyone know which one of the game's files contains these RGB values? Any help will be much appreciated;

    Thanks a lot for your attention!

    marceljoyce

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi all,

    I have been looking on this forum and other for a while and need a simple answer answered.

    How do I get hold of the 3d models from Imperial Glory?

    Each thread that appears hopefully ends up diverting to another subject or being unclear in the process.

    All I need to know is what file to extract specially for 3d models only and how to get that extracted file into 3ds max if it is of some unsupported file extension?

    Many thanks!!!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •