Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Patch for Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Utrecht
    Posts
    466

    Exclamation Patch for Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1

    Hello everyone,

    We have just made public a new version of the PC version of Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1. This patch will be applied by Steam automatically when you next start the game. If your game does not update, please restart the Steam client.
    This patch will address the following issues

    - Fix for a crash after loading a new game or benchmark, often seen on Intel GPU hardware.
    - Fix for DOF issue when peeking through keyholes.
    - Fix for stereoscopic 3D inconsistencies in option menus. Forces VSync to be ON and Triple Buffering to be OFF.
    - Fix for a bug where Invert mouse X/Y would not be saved.
    - Minor UI improvements.
    - Optimized memory usage.

    While we expect this patch to be an improvement for everyone, if you do have trouble with this patch and prefer to stay on the old version we made a Beta available on Steam, v1.0 build 4107.3, that can be used to switch back to the previous version

    Step 1: Go to your STEAM library and select Thief in your game list
    Step 2: right-click on the game and go to properties
    Step 3: go to the Betas tab in the properties menu
    Step 4: select version 1.0 and press ok.

    This will set you back to the original released version of the game.
    We will keep monitoring for feedback and will release further patches as it seems required. We always welcome your feedback!
    Last edited by Nixxes; 02-27-2014 at 02:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Thank you for the update! Looking forward to further support. You guys rock!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I appreciate your quick attention to these issues, but I would like to bring to your attention the many users who cannot even load the game at all. After clicking play, the screen goes blank and stays that way until the program closes. No amount of updating/rolling back drivers, changing page file settings, certainly verifying the game cache has worked. Out of almost 200 Steam games, this is the first time this has happened.

    While I may be selfish, I think that an issue that makes your game completely inaccessible ought to be the highest priority.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default

    The patch was nice but the game still would exit right after the load is finish. It just gives a small glimpse of the cutscence
    Last edited by wokingpanda; 02-27-2014 at 03:54 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Devs: Heard the game sucks too much VRAM, lower the vram usage, and some stutters can go away.

    Also, the devs from bioshock infinite had stutters with their game too, and they managed to fix them. So its fixable.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    So EIDOS still isn't addressing the multitude of SOUND ISSUES for both PCs and consoles?

    Wow. Literally the first page of this forum had half a dozen SOUND ISSUE complaints on the first day.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Where's the console patch? Right now console users are having loads of problems as well and some people can't even play the game due to bugs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    please you can make something about the low FPS

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    It seems this patch is caused a drop in performance along with a significant increase in stuttering for a lot of people, though the memory usage is very much improved. My average fps only dropped by 2 in the benchmark but I am getting a lot more stuttering and others are more greatly affected.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    This new patch broke SSAA for me. When SSAA is set to low or high it seems to conflict with Ambient Occlusion, creating a washed out effect in the shadowed areas. Turning SSAA off solves it.

    To confirm this, I rolled back to the original version of the game on Steam, and this issue wasn't present.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default Well, Crap

    At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

    I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

    I just can't play the damn game.

    Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?
    Last edited by hyperzzzz; 02-27-2014 at 08:19 PM. Reason: unfinished

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyperzzzz View Post
    At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

    I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

    I just can't play the damn game.

    Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?
    In the Betas tab, there should be a drop down menu directly below the "Select the beta you would like to opt into:" line. Select "version_1.0 -"

    It should then start downloading the roll back patch.

    Hope you get it working

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyperzzzz View Post
    At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.
    Is that the plank with three parts, of which the middle one is a bit longer and you happen to try to jump from there? I know I couldn't and manage to jump the gap from the LEFT part of the plank, which is considerebly shorter. WTF.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Livermore, CA USA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hyperzzzz View Post
    At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

    I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

    I just can't play the damn game.

    Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?
    You have to jump it while running. It won't let you jump in walk mode. Hope this helps.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zednaught View Post
    I appreciate your quick attention to these issues, but I would like to bring to your attention the many users who cannot even load the game at all. After clicking play, the screen goes blank and stays that way until the program closes. No amount of updating/rolling back drivers, changing page file settings, certainly verifying the game cache has worked. Out of almost 200 Steam games, this is the first time this has happened.

    While I may be selfish, I think that an issue that makes your game completely inaccessible ought to be the highest priority.
    TOTALY AGREE ... guys i cant even start the game ... really ... im formo europe .. was waiting for hte game the all week while everyone was plaing it in other continents and in the end the game dosent even start ... LOL ... massive bad start eidos REALLY .. pls stop going wome sleaping and just work until you finish with all majar bugs ... redbull time guys for real

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    BC - Canada
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nimbulan View Post
    It seems this patch is caused a drop in performance along with a significant increase in stuttering for a lot of people, though the memory usage is very much improved. My average fps only dropped by 2 in the benchmark but I am getting a lot more stuttering and others are more greatly affected.
    Same for me as soon as the save is loaded the character (Garrett) is getting sluggish



    Operating System
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 45 C
    Deneb 45nm Technology
    RAM
    12.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 669MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 (AM3) 31 C
    Graphics
    BenQ V2400Eco (1920x1080@60Hz)
    Generic Non-PnP Monitor (1280x1024@60Hz)
    2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (XFX Pine Group) 69 C
    Storage
    111GB Seagate ST3120026AS ATA Device (SATA) 40 C
    149GB Seagate ST3160815AS ATA Device (SATA) 34 C
    279GB Maxtor 6V300F0 ATA Device (SATA) 32 C
    931GB Western Digital WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 ATA Device (SATA) 40 C
    2794GB Seagate ST3000DM001-1CH166 ATA Device (SATA) 31 C
    14GB Kingston DT 101 G2 USB Device (USB)
    3GB Dataram, Inc. RAMDiskVE (RAM Disk)
    Optical Drives
    HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H55N ATA Device
    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I'd just liked to say, I'm having no real big issues, even when NOT using the AMD beta drivers. There is occasional frame drop in certain areas of the Stonemarket district, hard to pinpoint it as I don't know the layout that well yet (1 hour of playing pretty much), apart from the fact its an alley with two civilian AI wandering back and forth on it.

    i5 2500k 4.4Ghz
    R9 290 (stock)
    GA-Z77X-UD3H
    Sitting on a SSD
    Using 13.12 Drivers (I prefer stable ones)

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    BC - Canada
    Posts
    2

    Default Fixed

    Yep, no more problems, everything's running fine @ the best quality

    I think they (the devs) sent a micro-patch through Steam, 'cause I cannot explain the sudden repair

    Anyhow, I'm happy to return hiding

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation

    HELLO? DONT YOU THINK IT WILL DAMN WELL HELP IF YOU PUT THE SIZE OF THE DAMN PATCH AS WELL IN? OMFG


    Quote Originally Posted by Nixxes View Post
    Hello everyone,

    We have just made public a new version of the PC version of Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1. This patch will be applied by Steam automatically when you next start the game. If your game does not update, please restart the Steam client.
    This patch will address the following issues

    - Fix for a crash after loading a new game or benchmark, often seen on Intel GPU hardware.
    - Fix for DOF issue when peeking through keyholes.
    - Fix for stereoscopic 3D inconsistencies in option menus. Forces VSync to be ON and Triple Buffering to be OFF.
    - Fix for a bug where Invert mouse X/Y would not be saved.
    - Minor UI improvements.
    - Optimized memory usage.

    While we expect this patch to be an improvement for everyone, if you do have trouble with this patch and prefer to stay on the old version we made a Beta available on Steam, v1.0 build 4107.3, that can be used to switch back to the previous version

    Step 1: Go to your STEAM library and select Thief in your game list
    Step 2: right-click on the game and go to properties
    Step 3: go to the Betas tab in the properties menu
    Step 4: select version 1.0 and press ok.

    This will set you back to the original released version of the game.
    We will keep monitoring for feedback and will release further patches as it seems required. We always welcome your feedback!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Does anyone get the same problem on XBOX ONE with the game in a loop as you try to go to chapter 2??

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I am seriously taking this game back today.. I need a damn answer
    this is my thread that still not even a mod has replied to :@

    http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthr...81#post1990581

    please help.. IS THERE ANY BODY OUT THERE?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default

    meh I don't care.. im getting a refund screw it

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This fixed most of the crashing for me but i still get it occasionally, as well as an odd object tearing where things mainly npcs stetch all over the place and ssao causes a washed out effect alot of the time, as well as stuttering problems in some places

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •