Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 205

Thread: Angel of Darkness: TECHNICAL PROBLEMS? READ THIS FIRST!

  1. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Lightbulb Re: Running problems

    Originally posted by davidbono23
    I'm having the enxt error message when I try to run the game:
    SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE

    I already read about enabling my graphics card but the settings window doesn't seem to have that option for me, the only tabs I'm getting are general, sound, mouse and keyboard.
    Somebody help me out please!

    David
    That's odd. Please uninstall the game, reinstall DirectX9a and after that reinstall the game. See if that does the trick.

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    hi
    cant watch any fmv ( eidos interactive movie - core design movie ) when start a new game without any video start the game how can fix it ?
    thx

  3. #28
    Grey Mouser Guest

    Default

    Originally posted by Jewell
    Ok, I have a really old out dated PC here, and I'm wondering if I can make AoD work on it (if not I'll wait till Fri when a laptop and a very nice monster of a computer come home ).

    Operating System: Windows 98 (4.10, Build 2222) A
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: n/a
    System Model: n/a
    BIOS: n/a
    Processor: Intel Pentium III, ~600MHz
    Memory: 128MB RAM
    Page File: 70MB used, 1849MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0a (4.09.0000.0901)
    DX Setup Parameters: None
    DxDiag Version: 4.09.0000.0901 32bit
    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2X
    Manufacturer: ATI Tech. - Enhanced
    Chip type: Mach64: XL/XC
    DAC type: Internal
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4742&SUBSYS_47421002&REV_5C\000800
    Display Memory: 8.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1152 x 864 (32 bit)(optimal refresh rate)
    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: ati2drae.drv
    Driver Version: 4.13.0001.2655 (English)
    DDI Version: 8
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 11/5/2001 11:26:06, 271952 bytes

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: AWE64 Direct Sound Driver [220]
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: ISAPNP\CTL00C3_DEV0000\15E9425B
    Manufacturer ID: 2
    Product ID: 104
    Type: VXD
    Driver Name: SB16.VXD
    Driver Version: 4.37.0000.1998 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/23/1999 22:22:00, 114237 bytes


    I wasn't sure what info you'd need. Is this enough? And is there any hope for my PC? Or should I give up and wait till Fri?


    Dunno about the AWE64 sound card, you might get it working on that. Maybe...

    But that Rage Pro video card won't cut it, sorry....you'll only get blackscreens, crashes, and smoke from your PC if you try to start it. Well, not smoke. But it won't run.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    please need help cant watch fmvs . can the patch fix this problem ? patch will arive today where can download it ?

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Cool

    Originally posted by shawnz
    patch will arive today where can download it ?
    Once the patch is uploaded it will be announced. Be patient.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Default

    ok thanks could u write forums when it arrives ?

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default PATCH!!!

    THE PATCH!! -DEFFENDERS!!
    At least someone defending the girl!! I bought the game and its buggy too, and Im trying to get used to a new control system, a bit disappointed, we dont know the reason why the game was released that early (money maybe ??? ) And Im sure the developers knew about the glitches.. Guess they thought its not that good but finished And what we have now is the game for the true fans of Lara but they can forget about getting in new fans for her!! Hope not for a long time
    And there will be more to come!! Patch 1-2-3-4 Wonder how many it needs to cover atleast 50% of all bugs...

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation Error Message 0x80070725

    Please help me. I inserted the TR:AOD disc into my PC and got an Error 0x80070725 - Description : Incompatable version of the RPC stub. The game won't install. I don't have a clue what to do! Any ideas?

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Default

    Like I said in my first post, in order to help with problems we need to know more about your computer.

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2

    Default About My Com

    Following My other post:

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 7/4/2003, 22:14:12
    Machine name: B8Q5F1
    Operating System: Windows 98 (4.10, Build 2222) A
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: n/a
    System Model: n/a
    BIOS: n/a
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) Processor, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.0GHz
    Memory: 510MB RAM
    Page File: 178MB used, 1358MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 (4.09.0000.0901)
    DX Setup Parameters: None
    DxDiag Version: 4.09.0000.0900 32bit

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Music Tab: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.
    Network Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type:
    DAC type:
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0171&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_A3\000800
    Display Memory: 128.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit)(optimal refresh rate)
    Monitor: AOC Spectrum 7V
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: nvdisp.drv
    Driver Version: 4.13.0001.2832 (English)
    DDI Version: 8
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 3/9/2002 09:53:00, 111360 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: n/a
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: *vdd
    Mini VDD: nvmini.vxd
    Mini VDD Date: , 0 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4231-11CF-A068-012001C2C935}
    Vendor ID: 0x10DE
    Device ID: 0x0171
    SubSys ID: 0x00000000
    Revision ID: 0x00A3
    Revision ID: 0x00A3
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D
    Deinterlace Caps: n/a
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: Not run
    D3D7 Test Result: Not run
    D3D8 Test Result: Not run
    D3D9 Test Result: Not run

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Creative SBPCI Direct Sound Driver
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1274&DEV_5880&SUBSYS_A0001458&REV_03\BUS_00&DEV_0E&FUNC_00
    Manufacturer ID: 2
    Product ID: 501
    Type: VXD
    Driver Name: SBPCI.VXD
    Driver Version: 4.12.0001.1191 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Beta Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: n/a
    Date and Size: 6/7/2000 10:30:20, 450701 bytes
    Other Files: sbpci.vxd
    Driver Provider: Creative
    HW Accel Level: Full
    Cap Flags: 0x0
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: Yes
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
    Registry: OK
    Sound Test Result: Not run
    Last edited by Stottie; 07-04-2003 at 02:10 PM.

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    102

    Default ...

    DEMO BABY, DEMO....

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio, USA (F)
    Posts
    715

    Default

    Originally posted by Grey Mouser
    Dunno about the AWE64 sound card, you might get it working on that. Maybe...

    But that Rage Pro video card won't cut it, sorry....you'll only get blackscreens, crashes, and smoke from your PC if you try to start it. Well, not smoke. But it won't run.
    lol, that's what I thought, and so far, that's all that has happened. Oh well, a laptop and another comp come home tomorrow, perhaps I'll have better results there

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Lightbulb

    Stottie, update your video card driver, install DirectX 9a and turn your soundcard hardware acceleration down to 'basic'. See FAQ.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Running problems

    Originally posted by davidbono23
    I'm having the enxt error message when I try to run the game:
    SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE

    I already read about enabling my graphics card but the settings window doesn't seem to have that option for me, the only tabs I'm getting are general, sound, mouse and keyboard.
    Somebody help me out please!

    David
    I'm having the exact same problem, except for that I also have tabs named "Intel740 Win9x PV4.O" and "USB Mouse"... What should I do?

  15. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Default Re: Re: Running problems

    Originally posted by Timmaboo
    I'm having the exact same problem, except for that I also have tabs named "Intel740 Win9x PV4.O" and "USB Mouse"... What should I do?
    The Intel740 is your graphic chip. Check if the Enable checkbox is filled, just like it says in the very first post of this thread. I know it is a long one, but it is worth reading.

  16. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Re: Re: Running problems

    Originally posted by GoranAgar
    The Intel740 is your graphic chip. Check if the Enable checkbox is filled, just like it says in the very first post of this thread. I know it is a long one, but it is worth reading.
    Oh okay, didn't know that
    Yes, the Enable checkbox is filled... When I press "Test" it says "Settings Failed... Error: SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE"...
    What to do now? lol

  17. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Default

    Timmaboo, I did a little research and found that the Intel740 gpu is simply not up to the job. It is way too old.

  18. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Originally posted by GoranAgar
    Timmaboo, I did a little research and found that the Intel740 gpu is simply not up to the job. It is way too old.
    So what exactly does that mean? I take it I have to buy a new graphic/video card?
    Last edited by Timmaboo; 07-06-2003 at 12:03 AM.

  19. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Lightbulb

    Originally posted by Timmaboo
    So what exactly does that mean? I take it I have to buy a new graphic/video card?
    It means that Intel740 graphic chip is too old. The latest driver available from Intel is 4 years old. It hasn't even heard of DirecX9 or T&L. It is underpowered, not capable of running the game or any new game.

    And if that is your graphic chip I wonder what the rest of that computer looks like.

  20. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Originally posted by GoranAgar
    It means that Intel740 graphic chip is too old. The latest driver available from Intel is 4 years old. It hasn't even heard of DirecX9 or T&L. It is underpowered, not capable of running the game or any new game.

    And if that is your graphic chip I wonder what the rest of that computer looks like.
    I just tried it on my dad's laptop, and it worked perfectly well, so I'll just buy a new graphic chip ASAP. Thanks!

  21. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    This is quite funny (actually it isn't, but ... you know ), but everything works fine with me except this guy @ the bar where you can first have a glimpse at Kurtis Trent (reading a newspaper in what appears to be a somewhat bad mood) ... anyway: this guy is completely fu ... messed up

    It's the only thing that's wrong ... his face is covered by his own hair and he's got these black shadowspots on both his arms and face. Only eye pops through all of this ... is this like some alien from previous Tomb Raider-games who got away safe and sound and found a job in Paris or can this ?bug? be taken care off?

    Thnx!

    Bye for now!
    Opera? What is opera? Opera is when a guy gets stabbed in the back and instead of bleeding ... he starts to sing.

  22. #47
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy help!

    hi i really need help!

    im not a genius like alot of you seem to be hehe, all clever people here it seems

    1-starteed with game working with no fmv sequencees and the usual bugs


    2- installed the patch and all i got was the audio for the vids like core design, lara and voncroy, with a black screen and no picture for them parts

    3- went to nvidia website to download latest drivers like some have here, ,#i got (nvidia riva tnt2 model 64)

    and now the game wont work, even by reinstalling game and reinstalling dirextxstuff, all i get is

    The Following Error has occured

    SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE



    and i cant fix it, i fiddled with the settings after to try ideas but i cant do it , because originally it did work, with the bugs

    if nobody helps me im stuck with no lara game 2 play

    someone pleeeeeeeease help me!

  23. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Default Re: help!

    Originally posted by liquiduk
    The Following Error has occured

    SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE

    This didn't work?

    Q: I am getting a 'SYS_ERROR_D3D_CREATE_DEVICE'-error on startup.
    A: Make sure your graphic card is enabled in the settings of the game. Make sure the checkbox 'enable' is filled in the graphic tab

  24. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Der Wafflehaus
    Posts
    6,297

    Post

    Originally posted by Godfather
    It's the only thing that's wrong ... his face is covered by his own hair and he's got these black shadowspots on both his arms and face. Only eye pops through all of this ... is this like some alien from previous Tomb Raider-games who got away safe and sound and found a job in Paris or can this ?bug? be taken care off?
    If you post this and haven't installed the patch (which should fix it) I will have to ban you!

  25. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    11

    Default

    HAHA yes i have installed the patch, and the card is enabled

    i took off the nvidia new drivers software, and put the old drivers bak on and the game works, now the only problem i got is the black screen for fmvs with no picture

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •