Eidos Forums

Go Back   Eidos Forums > General Eidos Community Forums > Community Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:28 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Exclamation Tech related problem

whats up fellow members,

got something on my hands where i keep breaking my brain over. No clue if anyone here is tech related but hey worth a shot two weeks ago i received an old pc from my uncle which he left standing broken, so it passed the warranty period. Anyway since it is a AM3 processor and motherboard i tryed my best to figure out what the problem is since my dads pc could use an update.

the computer contains:
Motherboard: Asus M4A79T Deluxe (AM3)
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 (AM3)
Graphiccard: Sapphire VAPOR-X HD 4890 2GB
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1333MHZ (4x 2gb)
PSU: 1000W Coolermaster
thats about it without the case, hdd etc.

anyway i will now try to explain what works and what doesn't.
supplying motherboard with power:
motherboard power LED is turned on
power on the pc,
fans started doing there cycles, hdd started to turn, no bios screen appears,(monitor does not detect input)

turned the pc back off and started measuring the required PSU mains, all appear to be valid. back to the mobo it seems, RAM being installed correctly! picking out 3 of them and leaving one of them in slot A1. trying to boot same problem did this with all 4 modules and all same results.

ok maybe graphic card hey?
replaced it currents big ass GPU with a lighter Geforce 8600GTS, same result lights on GPU turn on and fans spin but no bios.
back to the mobo it seems maybe a broken PCI-E bus?
replacing the GPU to the different slots didn't do the trick.

tested the PSU on my AM2 pc and works fine, tested GPU Sapphire 4890 on my AM2 and works fine as well.

also did hard reset on the motherboard but did not help.

with these results in mind i ordered a new MOBO a ASUS M4A88T-M/USB3, got it in after 2 days and replaced the MOBO, same results everywhere. hmm crazy stuff maybe the processor? didn't had any other DDR3 to test with and couldn't think about all 4 DDR module's to be death. So figured it was the processor, spend another lot of money to order the exact same processor.

me being so pissed of of spending money i figured i could send the mobo back to the store again for a refund. without having the processor first.
ok processor arrives and all things start to happen again no things changed. on that moment i wanted to break the damn pc and kill it with fire!!

pff so lent a working DDR3 chip from one of my friends, and finally tried that with same results. spinning fans

Alright folks and that is where i stand right now. Since i can't return the processor since it seal is broken i need some idea's. Should i call my supplier and order the motherboard back or do you have any other idea's what can be it? outside the box ideas are higly welcome
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:45 AM
Driber's Avatar
Driber Driber is offline
iMod™
Eidos Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mater Urbium
Posts: 19,711
Default

Have you tried turning it off and on again?



Sorry....couldn't resist

No idea. Sounds like you already checked all the obvious things. It's hard to picture what it could be if I'm not having the stuff right in front of me :/
__________________

Driber.net | Forum Thumbnailer | Driber Wagon™ | RAWR! | TR Ancient Legends III - Lost Chambers | -- .- .-. .. . / .. ... / -.-. ..- - . :-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:51 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

haha reminds me of this:



yes i tried couldnt find that any key
__________________
signature image

Last edited by TranceTrouble; 04-15-2012 at 02:03 AM. Reason: picture
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:53 AM
Driber's Avatar
Driber Driber is offline
iMod™
Eidos Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mater Urbium
Posts: 19,711
Default

I also can't find any key.......but that's because your image doesn't show up
__________________

Driber.net | Forum Thumbnailer | Driber Wagon™ | RAWR! | TR Ancient Legends III - Lost Chambers | -- .- .-. .. . / .. ... / -.-. ..- - . :-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:23 AM
@m's Avatar
@m @m is online now
Immersion Killer
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,751
Default

Looks like you've already tried a lot of things. Still did you try it with a different monitor connected?

If the mobo, ram or cpu is broken I would expect some beeping noises..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:52 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

yes sir tried it with different monitor as well, there is not buzzer connected to the motherboard, but measureing on that output pins with oscilloscope don't show anything else then 0v.

currently thinking it is at least two things, both the mobo as the processor, processor and ram or motherboard and RAM. but stupid me send the new mobo away to soon so cant test with that. going to check the old ddr modules in a friends pc i guess.

edit: hmm far shot but maybe the EEPROM where the bios in stored is damaged, hmm going to experiment a little to see if i can read it out and flash it again. EEPROM is a little chip which hold a little bit of memory mostly a few kb driven with a serial interface.
__________________
signature image

Last edited by TranceTrouble; 04-15-2012 at 06:18 AM. Reason: idea
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:34 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

update:
i believe i found the problem online, a few users on the official ASUS forum seem to have the same problem. The motherboard in question has a default bios that doesn't support the currently installed processor. The trick to probably fix it is to get a AM3 processor that is supported by default and then update the BIOS to the latest version.

bit stupid to get a new processor, which is slower then the current one i have.
a more decent solution is to order a new EEPROM chip with a new bios version already installed. Or experiment some with the old one and try to flash it myself with just some kind of programmer. Will keep you guys posted on this project
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2012, 05:36 AM
@m's Avatar
@m @m is online now
Immersion Killer
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,751
Default

Interesting problem. I know what an EEPROM is though I wasn't aware that it's possible to replace it yourself. Doesn't it require some soldering or other trickery? Looking forward on your progress.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2012, 07:57 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

yes your right requires some soldering/trickery. Lucky enough the EEPROM is in a socket so i can pull it out gentle and put it on some testing board with some serial interface to the computer. If this wasn't the case i should have soldered the EEPROM loose or tryed to program it in his position. Some hackers/students have already made a program to work with, yesterday couldn't get it to work but seems i forgot one thing will give it a shot tonight.
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2012, 11:43 PM
Driber's Avatar
Driber Driber is offline
iMod™
Eidos Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mater Urbium
Posts: 19,711
Default

How's it coming along?
__________________

Driber.net | Forum Thumbnailer | Driber Wagon™ | RAWR! | TR Ancient Legends III - Lost Chambers | -- .- .-. .. . / .. ... / -.-. ..- - . :-)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-23-2012, 08:03 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

ah yes, managed to get the programming working but when verifying the memory it seems corrupted.
So i just ordered a new programmed EEPROM, coming in tomorrow i guess.
__________________
signature image

Last edited by TranceTrouble; 04-23-2012 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:53 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

NEVER going to sell it yet!!! i'm a electronics student and not giving up on electronics like that so easy. It will get fixed or burned!!
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-25-2012, 11:28 AM
Driber's Avatar
Driber Driber is offline
iMod™
Eidos Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mater Urbium
Posts: 19,711
Default

Should we call 112 yet?

__________________

Driber.net | Forum Thumbnailer | Driber Wagon™ | RAWR! | TR Ancient Legends III - Lost Chambers | -- .- .-. .. . / .. ... / -.-. ..- - . :-)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:57 PM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

yeah make the call bios chip didn't do the trick...
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:08 AM
TranceTrouble's Avatar
TranceTrouble TranceTrouble is offline
Mod Upgrade Installed
Eidos Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,521
Default

hahaha no sir
__________________
signature image
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.